5th December 2015

British Journalism Award Winners Announced

The most prestigious award, Journalist of the Year, was awarded to the Sunday Times Insight Team editor.

Jonathan Calvert, Sunday Times Insight Team editor, was awarded the Journalist of the Year award at the 2015 British Journalism Awards.

Calvert was applauded for leading the blood-doping in international athletics expose, and revealing the corruption at FIFA.

Aside from the Journalist of the Year Award, the Marie Colvin Award was awarded to Alan Rusbridger.

The Marie Colvin Award is for raising the reputation of journalism over the course of a career.

Despite stepping down from the Guardian after 20 years as editor, Rusbridger was still given this award.

Another big category; Investigation of the Year was awarded to The Guardian, for their work on the HSBC files.

The British Journalism Awards are open to all journalists.

There were more than 300 entries made for the 15 categories.

The ceremony was held at Stationers' Hall in London, where 200 journalists were in attendance.





The full list of winners is as follows:

Digital Innovation

Winner: Vice News

New Journalist of the Year

Winner: Simon Murphy of The Mail on Sunday

Campaign of the Year

Winner: The Guardian for Keep it in the Ground

Highly commended: David Jones, Sam Greenhill, Ian Drury and Jack Doyle of the Daily Mail

Foreign Affairs Journalism

Winner: Patrick Kingsley of The Guardian

Politics Journalism

Winner: Tom Newton Dunn of The Sun


Winner: Manu Brabo of The Sunday Times

Highly Commended: Jack Hill of The Times and Philip Coburn of the Daily Mirror

Business, Finance and Economics Journalism 

Winner: Daniel Jones of The Sun

Highly commended: Charles Levinson of Reuters

Science, Technology and Health Journalism

Winner: Deborah Cohen from the BMJ

Highly commended: Natasha Loder of The Economist

Breaking News Award 

Winner: Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnott and Bojan Pancevski (Insight) – The Sunday Times

Sports Journalism

Winner: Mark Daly, Murdoch Rodgers and David Epstein – BBC Scotland/Panorama/ProPublica

Highly commended: Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnott and David Collins of The Sunday Times

Popular journalism

Winner: The news team at The Mail on Sunday

Local Heroes

Winner: Jeanette Oldham of the Birmingham Mail

Highly commended: Andrew Gilligan of The Daily and Sunday Telegraph

Investigation of the Year

Winner: Juliette Garside, James Ball, David Leigh and David Pegg of The Guardian

The Marie Colvin Award for raising the reputation of British journalism

Winner: Alan Rusbridger

Journalist of the Year

Winner: Jonathan Calvert of The Sunday Times
Keep in touch
Get our free weekly retail
newsstand report
Enter your email below for our free weekly retail newsstand report, InterMedia updates and relevant industry news. You
can easily unsubscribe at any time. Click here for our privacy policy.
Get in touch

Unit 6 The Enterprise Centre
Kelvin Lane, Crawley,
RH10 9PE

Registered in England & Wales: InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. 07256268. Registered Office: North
Quay House, Sutton Harbour, Plymouth. PL4 0RA
Accredited by ABC for reporting standards, providing our
publishers with data their suppliers can trust.

An associate member of The Professional Publishers
Association, with the common commitment of working
towards a prosperous multi-platform media industry.
Subscribe today
Enter your email below to subscribe
for InterMedia free weekly newsstand
reports, updates and industry news.
You can easily unsubscribe at any time using the link at the
bottom of any of our emails, or by emailing us. Click here
to read our full privacy policy.
Part of the InterGo Group
The InterGo group work together
seamlessly to connect and deliver
brands to consumers.
© 2021 InterMedia Brand Marketing Limited. All rights
reserved. InterMedia is a trademark of InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. All content, trademarks, artwork and
associated imagery are trademarks and/or copyright
material of their owners.
We love cookies
This website uses cookies based on your browsing activity. By continuing
to use this website you consent to our Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy.