Join our team

We look forward to receiving your information and cv regarding a role with InterMedia

Upload your CV

Contact us

Unit 6 The Enterprise Centre
Kelvin Lane, Crawley,
RH10 9PE

5th December 2015

NCTJ Awards For Excellence Winners Revealed

The full list of winners from this year's annual NCTJ Awards for Excellence has been announced.

Notable educators that were recognised at the awards were News Associates in London, and the University of Sheffield. Both had two students recognised at the awards.

From the University of Sheffield, Andre Rhoden-Paul won the student news journalism category, while Sophie Grubb won the award for multimedia story/campaign.

From News Associates London, Leonie Chao-Fong won the student award for top scoop / exclusive, while George Gigney won student journalist of the year.

This year's awards were the first with the Paul Durrant Award, a new category.

The Paul Durrant Award is awarded in honour of Paul Durrant, former assistant editor of the Eastern Daily Press.

Durrant has recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer.

The winner of the Paul Durrant Award was Charlotte Austen-Hardy, from the Chelmsford Weekly News.

On her win, Austen-Hardy said: “I’m absolutely over the moon about being presented with Mr Durrant’s award, it is such an honour.

“I hope to do him proud and continue to uphold the values and standards our NQJ training teaches us and which Mr Durrant holds so dear.

“My training has been incredibly valuable in my career so far and I’d advise any trainees to take advantage of training opportunities offered to them, such as law or interview practice, as it not only gives you the best possible chance of success in the examinations but also the skills and confidence to tackle difficult stories in the newsroom.”

The full list of categories and winners is as follows:


Student news journalism:

André Rhoden-Paul, University of Sheffield

Trainee news journalism:

Henry Holloway, The Argus

Student sports journalism:

Michael Steward, St Mary's University

Trainee sports journalism:

Nemesha Balsundaram, Irish Post

Student top scoop/exclusive:

Leonie Chao-Fong, News Associates London

Trainee top scoop/exclusive:

Jordan Bluer, Dover Express

Student feature:

Catrina Cochrane, Glasgow Clyde College

Trainee feature:

Naomi Firsht, Jewish Chronicle

Student multimedia story/campaign:

Sophie Grubb, University of Sheffield

Trainee multimedia story/campaign:

Sophie Mei Lan Slack, BBC Journalism Trainee Scheme

Student project:

The North Crowd, Teesside University

Apprentice of the year:

Daniel Wright, KM Group

Student journalist of the year:

George Gigney, News Associates London

Trainee journalist of the year:

Katie Dickinson, The Westmoreland Gazette

The Paul Durrant award:

Charlotte Austen-Hardy, The Chelmsford Weekly News

Chairman's award:

Sue Green
Keep in touch
Get our free weekly retail
newsstand report
Enter your email below for our free weekly retail newsstand report, InterMedia updates and relevant industry news. You
can easily unsubscribe at any time. Click here for our privacy policy.
Get in touch

Unit 6 The Enterprise Centre
Kelvin Lane, Crawley,
RH10 9PE

Registered in England & Wales: InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. 07256268. Registered Office: North
Quay House, Sutton Harbour, Plymouth. PL4 0RA
Subscribe today
Enter your email below to subscribe
for InterMedia free weekly newsstand
reports, updates and industry news.
You can easily unsubscribe at any time using the link at the
bottom of any of our emails, or by emailing us. Click here
to read our full privacy policy.
Part of the InterGo Group
The InterGo group work together
seamlessly to connect and deliver
brands to consumers.
© 2021 InterMedia Brand Marketing Limited. All rights
reserved. InterMedia is a trademark of InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. All content, trademarks, artwork and
associated imagery are trademarks and/or copyright
material of their owners.
We love cookies
This website uses cookies based on your browsing activity. By continuing
to use this website you consent to our Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy.