28th March 2016

Society of Editors Press Awards Winners Announced

The Mail on Sunday took home seven prizes at the Society of Editors Press Awards.

The biggest accolade at the Society of Editors Press Awards 2015, National Newspaper of the Year, was awarded to the Mail on Sunday.

The judges said of the title: "It continues to be a great product that produces landmark stories...It is always entertaining with hard-hitting exclusives and fantastic columnists. It is guaranteed to produce a marmalade-dropper."

The Sunday title also took home the Scoop of the Year award, while The Independent won the special Chairman's Award.

Chairman of judges Bob Satchwell said: "The Indie was a brave innovation, as was its sister Sunday.

"The i proved so many soothsayers wrong. Five years on it has proved something of a driving force. They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery especially when some have dispatched print into the history books. Let’s hope the i‘s success is mirrored elsewhere."

The full list of winners is as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year
Tom Rowley of the Daily Telegraph

Business and Finance Journalist
Richard Milne of the Financial Times

Political Journalist of the Year
Rachel Sylvester of The Times

Foreign Reporter of the Year
Ian Birrell of The Mail on Sunday

Science and Health Journalist of the Year
Sarah Boseley

ShowBiz Reporter of the Year
Nicola Methven of the Daily Mirror

Sports Journalist of the Year
Matthew Syed of The Times

Specialist Journalist of the Year
Dan Jones of The Sun

Interviewer of the Year: Popular
Cole Moreton of The Mail on Sunday

Interviewer of the Year: Broadsheet
Camilla Long of The Sunday Times

Feature Writer of the Year: Popular
Guy Adams of the Daily Mail

Feature Writer of the Year: Broadsheet
Martin Fletcher of The Times

Columnist of the Year: Popular
Ian Birrell

Columnist of the Year: Broadsheet
Dominic Lawson of The Sunday Times

Critic of the Year
Marina O’Loughlin of The Guardian

Photographer of the Year
Manu Brabo of The Sunday Times

Sports Photographer of the Year
Tom Jenkins of The Guardian

Cartoonist of the Year
Morten Morland of The Times

Scoop of the Year
Mail on Sunday for Blood Money

News Reporter of the Year
David Rose of The Mail on Sunday

The Digital Innovation Award
Financial Times

Website of the Year
The Guardian

Front page of the Year
Busted by The Sun

Supplement of the Year
The Guardian Weekend Magazine

Sports Team of the Year
Mail Sport

News Team of the Year
The Mail on Sunday

The Cudlipp Award
The Daily Mail for is expose of the "bullying tactics and unscrupulous behavior of some major charities"

Journalists’ Charity Award
Irish ambassador Dan Mulhall

The Georgina Henry Women in Journalism Prize for Innovation
Amie Ferris-Rotman

Chairman’s Award
The Independent, The Independent on Sunday and the i

Newspaper of the Year
The Mail on Sunday

Keep in touch
Get our free weekly retail
newsstand report
Enter your email below for our free weekly retail newsstand report, InterMedia updates and relevant industry news. You
can easily unsubscribe at any time. Click here for our privacy policy.
Get in touch

Unit 6 The Enterprise Centre
Kelvin Lane, Crawley,
RH10 9PE

Registered in England & Wales: InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. 07256268. Registered Office: North
Quay House, Sutton Harbour, Plymouth. PL4 0RA
Accredited by ABC for reporting standards, providing our
publishers with data their suppliers can trust.

An associate member of The Professional Publishers
Association, with the common commitment of working
towards a prosperous multi-platform media industry.
Subscribe today
Enter your email below to subscribe
for InterMedia free weekly newsstand
reports, updates and industry news.
You can easily unsubscribe at any time using the link at the
bottom of any of our emails, or by emailing us. Click here
to read our full privacy policy.
Part of the InterGo Group
The InterGo group work together
seamlessly to connect and deliver
brands to consumers.
© 2021 InterMedia Brand Marketing Limited. All rights
reserved. InterMedia is a trademark of InterMedia Brand
Marketing Limited. All content, trademarks, artwork and
associated imagery are trademarks and/or copyright
material of their owners.
We love cookies
This website uses cookies based on your browsing activity. By continuing
to use this website you consent to our Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy.